The Illogical Logic Professor, and Day Two of Class

“True or false: Neil Armstrong won six Tours de France,” my logic professor stated as an example.

False, I thought. It was Lance, not Neil.

“False,” my professor affirmed. “It was seven Tours.”

I looked up from my notes in shock. I didn’t honestly know the number of Tours de France that the famous cyclist had won, but I did know that his name was Lance Armstrong; Neil Armstrong, on the other hand, was the first man to set foot on the moon. I debated whether I should raise my hand and correct him, or if I should even bother with the formalities and simply call out, “Wrong!” But at 8:30am on the first day of my logic class, I decided it was far too early to make myself seem like a snotty know-it-all (even though, let’s be real, that’s exactly what I am; I’ve just trained myself to limit my vocal corrections of others’ errors). And so began my Wednesday.

Today’s schedule was highly agreeable. The only difficult thing is the trek from my dorm to the building my first class, Logic at 8am, is in; it’s situated at the end of the quad. Nothing I couldn’t handle, though, and I didn’t get lost looking for the room. My next class, English, is in a building I’ve already had classes in, and this is only a two-minute walk from the first building. My English professor seems sweet, and she admitted that she’s addicted to Disney. I approve.

On a Monday or a Friday, this would be the end of classes for me; since today was Wednesday, I also had my once-a-week history discussion, which, luckily, was in the same building as my English class. My teaching assistant is a 24-year-old grad student, and from what I gathered, this is going to be a pretty fun history discussion to be in. Even with that extra class,  my day is over at 11am, after which I meet up with my friends and go to lunch.

A pretty good, normal day. I think I’m getting back into the swing of things faster than I expected.

Your Thoughts

