Things I Forgot to Mention: Beauty and the Beast

Sometimes, I sit at my computer, attempting to write a blog post before I realize my life is boring and nothing happens. Other times, I sit at my computer and realize, I forgot to blog about this! Welcome, then, to my short series of blog posts in which I write about things that happened to me over the course of the week that I didn’t mention.

Beauty and the Beast:
Last Sunday, I went to see Beauty and the Beast in the theatre with my friends. It was the first time we’d ever been to the movies together. We got little commemorative postcards with our tickets and 3D glasses, so I made sure, when I got back to my dorm, to write on the back of it the day we first went to the movies. Who knows, one day in the future I might be able to dig it up from a box in the attic and smile to myself over the memories. Until then, it’s gracing my dorm corkboard, and will probably continue to appear in my room decor through college, provided I don’t lose it.

As a result of my seeing Beauty and the Beast, I decided to draw Chip on the whiteboard of my door. I like drawing, but I’ve never been one for painting Mona Lisas; I’m more of a doodler, even a cartoonist if I can call myself that. This was the first time I’d ever attempted to copy a Disney character, but I must say, it turned out better than I expected.

Chip from Beauty and the Beast

Chip

I took this picture as soon as I’d finished; since I do this on a whiteboard, I end up having to erase my own masterpieces in order to make room for new ones. If you look at my board now, you’ll find two written compliments from my floormates, and almost everyone who’s crossed into my room or past my door has expressed a positive review. Little things like this, people liking my silly art, make me happy.

I sent this to my family members, and as a result of that, my six-year-old niece has requested that I draw her pictures of Disney Princesses. Must say, I’m daunted; I’ve never been particularly good at drawing humans, but I’m certainly going to try my best and hope she likes them.

I find that I have a lot of free time on my hands anyway, so I think I’m going to invest in some art materials (crayons, markers, maybe some paper better than my plain printer stock) and spend my afternoons attempting to make some art.

Your Thoughts

