SLEEP?! NEVER!

No, I’m not on a caffeine rage. (Did I even have any coffee today, now that I think of it? No, I don’t think so.) But as I begin to write this, I’m five minutes away from being able to register for summer school classes. I also spent the day building my tentative schedule for the fall semester, even though I can’t register for those classes until April 11.

Let me just note, my tentative fall schedule is maxed out (18 credits) and the layout is pretty intense: four 75 minute classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays spanning from roughly 9:30am to 3:30pm (with some breaks in between), two 75 minute classes on Mondays and Wednesdays (2pm-4:45pm), and a 50 minute discussion section at 8am on Fridays.

I interrupt my own blog post to inform you that I just registered for my summer courses!

I blocked out my profs' names and whatnot, but I'm sure the color blocks can give you an idea of what my day will (hopefully) look like next semester.

Not a bad schedule, one would say, as I start off my Mondays and Wednesdays way after lunch. But wait! I’m considering getting a job, too!

There are a few options I’m considering in regards to jobs:

  • Starbucks. I’ve got over 2.5 years of food service experience, so this would be a smoother transition. Plus, I love Starbucks. It could be fun. Also, since they open at 5:30am and close at 10pm, there’s a wider selection of hours I can work through.
  • College Receptionist. The College of Arts & Sciences is looking for a receptionist. Assuming the spot is still open, I could apply here. The only problem is, their available hours are 9am-4:30pm, leading to less hours and slightly lower availability.
  • Tutor. It’s a paid position, though I’m not sure how much they pay or when they work. I’m still awaiting details on that. Also, it’s dependent on how my GPA turns out this semester, and if I’m able to keep my A in history (most likely yes), the subject I want to tutor.
  • Desk Receptionist. I scan your key cards and let you into your dormitory. Problem is, the application is due in a week, and it requires a recommendation; I hate asking for recs on such short notice, and I’m not even sure who I would ask it from.
  • None? I have all the time in the world to dedicate to my studies, but no spending money. Plus, I’d be putting an extra burden on my parents, which I already guilty for.

College is definitely incredibly fun and a place where one should have adventures and live life to the fullest, but simultaneously, it’s also a place where great effort and hard work must be applied, and where some sacrifices must be made. I’d love to have all the time in the world to laze about, but I know that I need to work hard on my academics as well as find the resources to help me pay for school. Yes, this might lead to a bit of lack of sleep or a lessened social life, but hey, things gotta be done, right?

So, what do you think? Should I get a job, and which one? Should I tone it down and leave some breathing room in my schedule? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “SLEEP?! NEVER!

Your Thoughts

