Pick My Brains! I’m Open!

Last semester, I tried to start an advice blog. My aim was to offer my guidance to incoming college students. First of all, it was silly of me to try and start off that early; as a first-semester freshman, I was still in need of some heavy guidance myself, and was really in no place to be telling others how to manage. Secondly, that blog just didn’t take off. No one came to me for advice (which is for the best; I doubt anything I would’ve said would’ve been very solid).

Now, I’m not saying I’m the master guru of surviving through college, nor do I expect this attempt to be any more fruitful than the first. But, ladies and gents, I do want to help. Especially now that the national deadline for college acceptance is beginning to creep up, I really do want to answer questions if people have them. Want to know how you should go about choosing a school? Not sure if you should bring your collection of collector ceramic kitten plates to your dorm? (Answer: Do not.) I’ve got answers, or I can at least point you in the right direction if I don’t.

I have not yet reached this level. But I will. Mark my words.

A few things about me, if you’re starting to pluck up the courage to ask me something:

  • I’m female
  • I live on-campus with a roommate
  • I’m a first-generation, minority student from your average public high school
  • I go to a private school
  • I would consider myself very shy (and yet I’ve survived the ordeal!)
  • I don’t believe there is a such thing as a stupid question
  • I do check my blog pretty religiously. You’ll get an answer if you ask one. Promise.

I’ll also answer questions from parents or whoever else is involved in a college process.

And…yes. Insert conclusion here. I don’t really know if I can set up like a dropbox or something where you can leave me questions, so I suppose just commenting here will do for now. Once I find something better, I’ll let you know.

So… questions?

 

***UPDATE***

I made a page titled Need Advice? where you can leave me questions as well. (Essentially I took this blog post and made a page out of it. You’ll notice, if you go there, that it’s nearly identical to this.)

2 thoughts on “Pick My Brains! I’m Open!

  1. Thank you so much for this post! I guess, in order to answer my questions, I should tell you just a little about me. That ok?
    I’m 17 years old, I live in British Columbia, Canada and I’m home schooled with a private curriculum that will get me an American High School Certificate. (In other words, I’m not the one making up a random curriculum to later try for a GED). Although I love talking, and once you get to know me I’m as far away from shy as the earth is from the sun, I’m usually quite shy when in a crowd of strangers. Usually. But not always. Depends if it’s a good day. My parents were not born in North America and therefore cannot help me much with my questions. So, I’ve had to figure it out on my own. I’m an A average student, and last year I was on the honor roll.

    Anywho, my questions are these:
    1.What do I do if all I know is I want to major in Communications, but I don’t know where I want to apply that degree into yet? (Journalism, Professional Writing, Public Speaking etc.) What if I don’t figure it out by the time I get into college?
    2. Is there a limit on how many times you can take the SAT?
    3. Are classes really that hard? Or are people just scaring us high schoolers?

    For now that’s it. Thank you so so so very much for the help! (:

Your Thoughts

