Since no one wants to employ me…

Every summer as a kid, I would spend my days reading–no, consuming–books. That probably explains why I’m so incredibly nonathletic and somewhat squishy, but that’s beside the point. I loved reading, and my mental arsenal of great literature was greater than that of my peers. It was a nice feeling to have.

Since I was sixteen, however, I spent my summers working nearly full-time, and I grew too busy and tired to even crack open a simple magazine. My passion for books came to a halt.

Now I’m home from college and unemployed. (My job sucked. I quit. Moving on.) I’ve applied to over a dozen places but no one has called me back, which I admit is a little disheartening, but at the same time, I’m starting to embrace it. Maybe I can spend this summer relaxing for once, something I haven’t done in quite a long time. My tax return came in the mail, so I have enough money to hold me over for the summer, and I plan to get a job in the fall when I’m back on campus.

I think I’m going to read for fun again. I’m not yet sure what I want on my summer reading list, however.

At the top, of course, is Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace, which I ordered as a birthday present for myself and, five months later, is still sitting on my shelf gathering dust. It merits my full attention.

After that, I have Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John LeCarré, which I had planned to read before the movie left the theatres. Heh, whoops.

 

But what after that? Here are some of the following options I’ve considered:

Rereading A Series of Unfortunate Events

I know for a fact that half the content in those books went straight over my head as a child. The subtlety and complexity of it was just so much greater than my young mind could understand at the time, and I want to take it on with my now-adult view.

Reading great literary classics

You know, all those gems you need to read before you die, like War and Peace, Moby Dick, Pride and Prejudice, The Iliad… basically, if it’s on the Barnes & Noble Classics shelf, I want to read it.

Reading Latin American literature

I’m talking the greatest works from Gabriel García Márquez, Carlos Fuentes, Mario Vargas Llosa, Jorge Luis Borges, Paulo Coelho… and I could read these in either English or Spanish.

So, which route should I take? (And if anyone has any specific book/author recommendations, please let me know! I’m open to suggestions.)

3 thoughts on “Since no one wants to employ me…

  1. Coincidental! I just recently got back into reading again myself, but I’m much less methodical than you are. I just go to the library and scan the shelves until something looks interesting, and then I take it out and read it.

    Last book I read (using that method): Erotic Capital by Catherine Hakim. I’d go ahead and call it a must read for all women, especially younger women.

Your Thoughts

