Words I wish I’d heard at my own high school graduation. You know what I did get to hear, however? Our class speaker giving a speech that used the word “passions” at least thirty times, followed by a failed attempt to rile up the crowd with nonexistent school spirit. (He goes to my university as well. I see him, and I remember.)

Anyway, I’ve gone off on a tangent. Read this commencement address…

LIFE and Leadership by Chris Brady

Someone sent me the transcript from a commencement speech.  The title and beginning featured a slightly shocking pattern interrupt. In other words, they caught me by surprise. I found myself so intrigued I read further, and eventually realized that, unlike 99% of everything else I ever receive, I could not stop reading this. I have included it below in its entirety for your enjoyment and pondering. I love how it concludes, and think there are many, many fine points made along the way. Oh, if we could only think and behave thus!

Here it is!

Here’s a new one in the annals of commencement speakers. A teacher at Wellesley High School in Massachusetts gave his address to the Class of 2012 and blasted the students, telling them over and over, “You’re not special.”

_______________________________________________________
(Dennis R.J. Geppert/AP)

David McCullough Jr., an English teacher at the school, delivered his rather unusual…

View original post 1,835 more words

Your Thoughts

