So, I wanna be a bartender.

I’m 19-and-a-half years old (and yes, I still keep track of the halves, mmkay? :)), meaning I’m eligible to work as a bartender both in my home state and the state I go to school in. I’ve researched both and I’ve generally figured out how to get my bartending licenses in both states, but what I don’t know is how I’m supposed to learn how to… well, bartend. Someone somewhere has to teach me how to actually mix together the right liquids and put them in the right glass, no?

You’re probably wondering, “Aren’t you a college student? Don’t you have plans to become a lawyer? Why are you looking at bartending as a job?” Basically, I want to grow up to be this guy:

Law-school-dropout-turned-bartender Nick Miller from New Girl.

Okay, so maybe not exactly like Nick, but I’ve always thought bartending would be a fun job to have. I’ll need something to put me through law school, won’t I? (Actually, I’ll need something to put me through my undergrad years, too. Private school is a mighty financial burden.) Anyway, I’ve always liked trying exotic and new (non-alcoholic) drinks, and as a result I’ve always wanted to learn how to make my own (which also explains why I’ve so desperately been trying to get a job at Starbucks since I was fifteen; being a barista is another hope of mine). I think I’d have fun with a job in bartending; at the very least, I’d have a set of pretty sweet skills in my arsenal.

So, after one is certified to serve liquor, how does one actually learn to make all those drinks and whatnot? That’s my burning question. If there are any bartenders out there who want to share the wisdom… come here. Be my friend. Teach me your waaaaaaaaaays.

Cheers,

The Undergrad

5 thoughts on “So, I wanna be a bartender.

  1. Hahaha I was thinking the same thing, how cool would it be to say “I got through college by bartending!!” For me, though, I think it’d be awesome because I attend a small Christian university that doesn’t allow alcohol drinking…but there’s nothing about mixing! Also, I think once hired as a bartender, there are bartending classes that are 2 weeks long. So, you learn, and also, you learn for funsies and on the internet by looking around. 🙂

  2. I have been raking my brain for months about what topic I should start a blog about. I retired from the postal service and hated every minute I was there, so I am pretty sure I would not enjoy writing about it everyday. However, there would be some pretty interesting stories about the indivuals that work for that establishment. Maybe someday. Before that I was a bartender for 15 years. I figured every other person in the world wrote about bartending. However, a blog about people wanting to become bartenders might be the perfect one for me. There is so much more than just mixing drinks. Hey, thanks a lot.

Your Thoughts

